2023 September Minutes

Marinette & Menominee Amateur Radio Club

Regular Monthly Meeting Minutes

Thursday September 14, 2023


Meeting was called to order at 7:02 pm at inVenture North in Marinette by club president Jim Callow, K8IR.

Motion to approve the June and July meeting minutes was made by Paul Sorensen, NS8V and seconded by Mike Lemke, KD8FUE. The motion was accepted and carried.

Treasures Report: KD8FUE reported a balance at the end of August of $7,841.11. Motion to approve the treasurers report was made by Ed Engleman, KG8CX and seconded by Doug Dooley, KD8OVR. The motion was accepted and carried.

Correspondence: None

Committee Reports

ARES Report: KD8FUE reported he attended a meeting with the ISD. The roof was replaced on the building and they no longer want the HF antenna placed there. The ARES group will be looking into options to install a new antenna in a different location at the building that has been approved by the ISD. They will also allow the club to store our emergency communications trailer at their building and offered use of a store room to set up a permanent ARES radio station.

Fundraiser Report: Nothing new to report

Yacht Report: KG8CX reported the group is holding six meetings a week with the Saturday youth net being the most attended. Their newest member is a 10-year-old from Iowa.

ARRL/Webmaster Report: no report

New Business



Old Business

UHF Amp: No update

Communications Trailer: The external support has been ordered for the communications trailer mast for the cost of $600.

WIRES-X: The members present at the meeting decided to keep the 444.075 repeater connected to WIRES-X.


Dan Nyman, W9DLN would like someone to take net control for the Sunday net this week because of his marginal VHF station. Robert Juhlin, W8AWF volunteered to take it.

Motion to adjourn the meeting was made by Tim Mellenthin, WN6KHG and seconded by W9DLN. The motion was accepted and carried. Meeting ended at 7:46 pm

12 members present: N9GLT, WN6KHG, KD8OVR, KW5AS, KG8CX, KD8FUE, W9DLN, K8IR, W8AWF, KD9RYZ, KD9IGW, and NS8V.


Minutes respectfully submitted by John Goldschmidt – Secretary